Child Development


Course Content

The content of the course is divided into five core areas which are fully

  • 1.) Family and Child
  • 2.) Food and Health
  • 3.) Physical Development
  • 4.) Intellectual Development
  • 5.) Social and Emotional Development


You will learn to:


  • Understand the needs of a customer and design products to meet these needs.
  • Research information from a range of sources to aid in understanding problems and solving them.
  • Use a range of manufacturing methods and equipment both traditional and modern to manufacture high quality outcomes efficiently and safely.
  • Be critical of information, methods and products in order to improve outcomes and products.
  • Use a range of ICT equipment and skills to design and manufacture outcomes.


Why study Catering at GCSE?

Child Development provides pupils with the opportunity to gain knowledge and understanding of the physical, intellectual, emotional and social development and care of children from conception to the age of five.

Child Development qualifications provide a sound basis for further study at 16+ on academic courses such as:

  • A/AS Home Economics
  • CACHE Level 1 Award in Caring for Children
  • CACHE Level 2 & 3 Diplomas in Childcare and Education
  • Foundation Degree in Childhood Studies
  • NCFE Courses for Classroom Support Assistants

Child Development qualifications could lead to satisfactory and worth while careers in the social, health or education sectors e.g. Classroom Assistants, Support Teaching and Learning Assistants.


There are three assessment units over the two year course, 60% of the final mark can be achieved before taking the theory examination.

    • Unit 1: Written Examination (40%)
      This is a 1½ hour untiered paper taken at the end of the course. The paper is externally set and marked.
    • Unit 2 and 3: Controlled Assessments
      The coursework provides pupils with a variety of experiences through structured independent work. The assessment tasks encourage pupils to use all six key skills along with imaginative thinking and creative skills.
    • Unit 2: Child Study (30%)
      One task set by WJEC to be completed in 15 hours during Year 10, internally assessed.
    • Unit 3: Child Focused Task (30%)
      One task set by WJEC to be completed in 15 hours in Year 11, internally assessed.


Teaching Staff

Mrs C John
Design & Technology Teacher